TOC Annual Distinguished Service Awards

The Annual TOC Distinguished Service Awards Program was launched by the Training Officers Consortium in 1955 to stimulate improved government-sponsored training programs through recognition of individuals making significant contributions to the Federal training community in the field of human resource development (training, education, and career development).

A recent change is the timing and location of the awards ceremony. We are excited to announce that starting in 2023, the TOC Distinguished Service Awards Program will take place at our Annual Institute! 

 The 2023 Annual Institute will be April 30 through May 3 in Ocean City, Maryland.

Nominations for the 2023 TOC Distinguished Service Awards Program will open November 15, 2022 and close February 22, 2023.  Please note the new TOC Annual Distinguished Service Awards nomination form requires more detailed information than the previous version, so get started soon!

Review previous award recipients:
2021 Distinguished Service Award Winners and 2021 Spencer Logan Leadership Award Recipient
2020 Distinguished Service Award Winners

2019 Distinguished Service Award Winners
2018 Distinguished Service Award Winners

Award Eligibility and Submission Guidelines

  • Eligibility: The Training Officers Consortium Distinguished Service Awards program is for government-sponsored talent development practices and initiatives that organizations use to enhance and develop the knowledge, skills, and capabilities of their employees. Training suppliers should partner with their clients if they are interested in applying. Applicants do not need to be TOC registrants to apply.
  • Timeframe: Programs and practices must be fully implemented and show measurable results. Programs and practices that have previously received a Distinguished Service Award may apply again five years after their award was bestowed.
  • Multiple submissions: While each program or practice may only be submitted in one category, there is no limit to the number of separate nominations an organization may submit.

Award Categories

TOC Awards Committee

For more information email the Awards/Scholarship Committee Chair Dr. Gary C. Powell.